Print this page
Sign Up
Want more news? Sign up for our free e-letter!

For Immediate Release

Arkansas Farm Bureau's 76th Convention to Convene at Hot Springs Dec. 1-3

11/17/2010 at 12:00 a.m.

Farm Bureau Convention Program

LITTLE ROCK — Arkansas Farm Bureau’s role in “Feeding the Future” will be the focus for the organization’s 76th Annual Convention, scheduled for Dec. 1-3 at the Hot Springs Convention Center.

Gov. Mike Beebe, Farm Bureau President Randy Veach and combat veteran Wes Moore headline the speakers for the convention, expected to attract more than 1,000.

The gathering will also recognize five members of the state’s congressional delegation as “Friends of Farm Bureau.” U.S. Senators Blanche Lincoln and Mark Pryor, along with Congressmen Marion Berry, John Boozman and Mike Ross will receive recognition. The Friend of Farm Bureau awards are issued at the end of each Congressional session to those members who have a positive voting record on issues important to agriculture and the Farm Bureau, and who are accessible and responsive to Farm Bureau members and leaders.

The convention’s theme, “Feeding the Future,” will play out in several conferences, competitions and special meetings throughout the convention’s three-day run. It will culminate with the organization’s annual business session, where its 331 voting delegates elect the president and vice president and define the organization’s policy positions on items of importance to the Farm Bureau membership.

“We believe the theme of this convention manifests itself in many ways,” said Veach, a cotton, rice and soybean farmer from Manila (Mississippi County) who is concluding his second year as president of the organization. “Obviously, the men and women of agriculture have the opportunity to feed and clothe a growing world population, and we enthusiastically embrace that responsibility.
“But the theme also illustrates how Arkansas Farm Bureau and its leaders have thoughts, ideas and plans that will positively impact the future of Arkansas and the United States. Our county Farm Bureau leaders are the men and women who make our communities thrive, and their role in the ongoing success of our state cannot be overstated.”

The convention will spotlight the winners in Farm Bureau’s Young Farmer & Rancher competitions — the Discussion Meet and the Excellence in Ag and Achievement awards. The top county Farm Bureau women’s program and Sew With Cotton contest winners are all featured, as well. Additionally, the organization will name its Ag-in-the-Classroom Teacher of the Year.

Additionally, a number of special conferences will take place, covering environmental issues, rural health topics, and public policy items, along with private property and mineral rights concerns. Commodity-specific conferences in poultry, rice, timber, cotton, beef, soybeans, dairy, wheat and feed grains, and equine are also scheduled.



Arkansas Farm Bureau is a nonprofit, private advocacy organization of almost 220,000 families throughout the state working to improve farm and rural life.


For more information contact:

Steve Eddington
(501) 228-1383
PO Box 31, Little Rock 72203


Gregg Patterson
(501) 228-1282
PO Box 31, Little Rock 72203

<< Previous Release Back to List Next Release >>