Print this page
Sign Up
Want more news? Sign up for our free e-letter!

For Immediate Release

Craighead named top county Farm Bureau

12/2/2010 at 12:00 a.m.

Wins organization's President's Award

HOT SPRINGS — Craighead County is the state’s top county Farm Bureau organization for 2010. Arkansas Farm Bureau President Randy Veach presented the President’s Award Dec. 2 to Craighead County President David Gairhan at the organization’s 76th Annual Convention at the Hot Springs Convention Center.

“I’m proud of our county, and I’m proud of the leadership in our county. It was a team effort,” Gairhan said.

Counties competing for the President’s Award must earn a Gold Star in each of 10 categories and be a top scorer in their respective membership category. The 10 Gold Star categories are membership acquisition, organization, public relations, commodity services, governmental affairs, women’s and Young Farmers & Ranchers activities, member services, safety, and youth.

The other finalists for the President’s Award were Clark, Cross, Drew and Stone counties.  

In addition to those mentioned above, other counties earning 10 Gold Stars were Woodruff, Jackson, Carroll, Van Buren, Boone, Independence, Yell, Benton, Mississippi, Pope, Saline, Washington and White counties.

Awards also went to area counties achieving the highest percentage of quota and highest numerical gains in Farm Bureau memberships. Those counties are:  in the Southwest Area, Scott County; Northcentral Area, Cleburne County; Southcentral Area, Dallas County; Northwest Area, Madison County for highest percentage of quota and Boone County for highest numerical gain; Northeast Area, Greene County; and in the Southeast Area, Drew County.


Click Photo for High Resolution Version

Click Photo for High Resolution Version

Craighead County Farm Bureau President David Gairhan accepts the President's Award from Farm Bureau President Randy Veach at the annual conference in Hot Springs.

Arkansas Farm Bureau is a nonprofit, private advocacy organization of more than 220,000 families throughout the state working to improve farm and rural life.


For more information contact:

Steve Eddington
(501) 228-1383
PO Box 31, Little Rock 72203


Gregg Patterson
(501) 228-1282
PO Box 31, Little Rock 72203

<< Previous Release Back to List Next Release >>