Print this page
Sign Up
Want more news? Sign up for our free e-letter!

For Immediate Release

Top Young Farmer and Rancher Finalists Profiled

11/16/2010 at 12:00 a.m.

LITTLE ROCK — Profiles of three 2010 Arkansas Farm Bureau Young Farmer & Rancher Achievement Award finalists-families are in the following releases. They are Jeremy and Magen Allen of Bismarck (Hot Spring County) who raise feeder calves and have a laying hen operation; Brian and Elizabeth Walker of Horatio (Sevier County) who raise broilers along with cow/calf and feeder calf operations; and Josh and Melissa Cureton of Cash (Craighead County) who produce rice and soybeans. Arkansas Farm Bureau will award the state winner at its 2010 annual convention Dec. 1-3 in Hot Springs. Top prize is a Chevrolet 1500 quad cab, four-wheel-drive pickup. The winner also gets an expenses-paid trip to the American Farm Bureau convention in Atlanta to compete in the national competition. Runners-up will receive $1,000.

Follow the links below for detailed biographies and photos of each family:


Arkansas Farm Bureau’s Young Farmers & Ranchers program seeks out young people involved in agriculture and helps them develop the skills needed to succeed, prosper and become leaders in the state’s agriculture industry. Arkansas Farm Bureau is a nonprofit, private advocacy organization of almost 220,000 families throughout the state working to improve farm and rural life.


For more information contact:

Steve Eddington
(501) 228-1383
PO Box 31, Little Rock 72203


Jim Kester
(501) 228-1274
PO Box 31, Little Rock 72203


Chris Wilson
(501) 228-1236
PO Box 31, Little Rock 72203


Gregg Patterson
(501) 228-1282
PO Box 31, Little Rock 72203

<< Previous Release Back to List Next Release >>