Print this page
Sign Up
Want more news? Sign up for our free e-letter!

For Immediate Release

Veach's third term to lead Arkansas Farm Bureau

Officers, seven state board members also re-elected

12/3/2010 at 12:00 a.m.

HOT SPRINGS — Randy Veach and Rich Hillman will continue as president and vice president, respectively, of Arkansas Farm Bureau following their re-election Friday. Delegates also re-elected seven board members during the final day of the organization’s 76th Annual Convention at the Hot Springs Convention Center.

Veach, 60, of Manila (Mississippi County) begins a third term as president. He is Arkansas Farm Bureau’s tenth president since its creation in 1935.

“I am humbled by the opportunity, privilege and honor to continue serving as president of this great organization,” Veach said.

Veach says it’s critical that consumers know the story of how farmers and ranchers go about raising food for the world. “We do our work efficiently, so we can feed more and more of the growing world population. We do our work humanely based on approved animal husbandry and science-based practices,” he said. “And we do our work in an environmentally sensitive way using less herbicides, pesticides and water through advances in biotechnology that results in greater protection of our natural resources. We must use our good name to educate our friends, neighbors and communities.”

Veach says he will continue focusing on supporting all segments of agriculture and effectively addressing the issues facing it.

“We need a united voice to keep extremist groups like the Humane Society of the United States and others from dividing and conquering us.

“Agriculture is Arkansas’ economic engine. It generates more money for the state than any industry,” Veach said. “It must continue to be economically vibrant here and across the country.”

He says that means educating the public about farming to counter misrepresentations by extremist groups and by not allowing unnecessary government restrictions that drive the cost of farming higher.

“American farmers feed the world. For every person fed in America, we feed 20 throughout the world,” Veach explained. “We have to protect farmers and ranchers from high input costs and misguided legislation that could drive us out of business.”

Veach farms cotton, soybeans, rice, wheat, corn and milo in and around the community of Lost Cane near Manila. He is a third-generation farmer and farms with his son Brandon. His wife’s name is Thelma.

Hillman, 47, hails from Carlisle (Lonoke County) and will begin his third term as vice president. He farms 4,500 acres and is a third-generation farmer. His main crops are rice, soybeans and wheat. He and his wife Tina have two children, Collin and Caroline.

“I’m humbled to have the opportunity to serve again,” Hillman said.

Board action also resulted in the re-election of Tom Jones of Pottsville (Pope County) as Secretary/Treasurer. Jones is a cattle and hay producer. His wife Jayne is vice president of development at Arkansas Tech University.

The voting delegates also re-elected seven board members to new two-year terms. They include:  Joe Christian of Jonesboro (Craighead County); Rusty Smith of Des Arc (Prairie County); Leo Sutterfield of Mountain View (Stone County); Allen Stewart of Mena (Polk County); Terry Dabbs of Stuttgart (Arkansas County); Johnny Loftin of El Dorado (Union County) and Jones.

Voting delegates also addressed a wide range of policy issues including positions on environmental regulation, agriculture research, forestry, health care, dairy stabilization, taxes and potential rule making by the Grain Inspection, Packers and Stockyards Administration (GIPSA).


Click Photo for High Resolution Version

Click Photo for High Resolution Version

Randy Veach, president


Click Photo for High Resolution Version

Click Photo for High Resolution Version

Rich Hillman, vice president


Click Photo for High Resolution Version

Click Photo for High Resolution Version

Tom Jones, secretary/treasurer

Arkansas Farm Bureau is a nonprofit, private advocacy organization of almost 220,000 families throughout the state working to improve farm and rural life.


For more information contact:

Steve Eddington
(501) 228-1383
PO Box 31, Little Rock 72203


Gregg Patterson
(501) 228-1282
PO Box 31, Little Rock 72203

<< Previous Release Back to List Next Release >>