Print this page
Sign Up
Want more news? Sign up for our free e-letter!

For Immediate Release

Arkansas Farm Bureau's 77th Convention Convenes in Little Rock Nov. 30-Dec. 2

11/21/2011 at 12:00 a.m.

Farm Bureau Convention Program

LITTLE ROCK — Arkansas Farm Bureau’s role in providing an agricultural “Legacy” will be the focus for the organization’s 77th Annual Convention, scheduled for Nov. 30-Dec. 2 at the Peabody Hotel and Statehouse Convention Center in Little Rock.

Gov. Mike Beebe, Arkansas Farm Bureau President Randy Veach, humorist Jeanne Robertson and Wal-Mart Senior Director for Issue Management & Strategic Outreach, Joe Quinn, headline the speakers for the convention, which is expected to attract more than 1,000.

This year’s convention theme is “Legacy.” It will play out in several conferences, competitions and special meetings throughout the convention’s three-day run. The convention culminates with the organization’s annual business session, where more than 300 voting delegates elect the president and vice president and define the organization’s policy positions on items of importance to Farm Bureau members.

“Legacy, especially in the context of Arkansas Farm Bureau’s work, is a powerful and emotional word. This organization has built a legacy as the voice of Arkansas agriculture,” said Veach, a cotton, rice and soybean farmer from Manila (Mississippi County) who is concluding his third year as president of the organization.

“But the theme also illustrates how Arkansas Farm Bureau and its past and present leaders have left legacies and continue building legacies that positively impact Arkansas and the United States. Those legacies make our communities thrive, and their impact in the ongoing success of our state cannot be overstated.”

The convention will spotlight the winners in Farm Bureau’s Young Farmer & Rancher competitions — the Discussion Meet, and Excellence in Ag and Achievement awards. The top county Farm Bureau women’s program and Sew With Cotton contest winners will be named, and the organization will honor its Ag in the Classroom Teacher of the Year. Also, the first Stanley E. Reed Leadership Award recipient will be announced. Reed was Arkansas Farm Bureau’s president from 2003-2008. He died in a car accident last July at the age of 59. 

Additionally, a number of special conferences will take place, covering environmental issues, rural health topics, public policy items, along with private property and mineral and energy rights concerns. Commodity-specific conferences in poultry, rice, timber, cotton, beef, soybeans, dairy, equine, wheat and feed grains are also scheduled.


Arkansas Farm Bureau is a nonprofit, private advocacy organization of more than 210,000 families throughout the state working to improve farm and rural life.


For more information contact:

Steve Eddington
(501) 228-1383
PO Box 31, Little Rock 72203


Gregg Patterson
(501) 228-1282
PO Box 31, Little Rock 72203

<< Previous Release Back to List Next Release >>