Print this page
Sign Up
Want more news? Sign up for our free e-letter!

For Immediate Release

Craighead repeats as top Farm Bureau county

12/1/2011 at 12:00 a.m.

LITTLE ROCK – For the second consecutive year, Craighead County is the state’s top county Farm Bureau organization. Arkansas Farm Bureau President Randy Veach presented the President’s Award Dec. 1 to Craighead County President Dan Hosman at the organization’s 77th Annual Convention at the Peabody Hotel and Statehouse Convention Center in Little Rock.

“I’m proud of our county, and I’m proud of the leadership in our county. It was a team effort,” Hosman said.

Counties competing for the President’s Award must earn a Gold Star in each of 10 categories and be a top scorer in their respective membership category. The 10 Gold Star categories are membership acquisition, organization, public relations, commodity services, governmental affairs, women’s and Young Farmers & Ranchers activities, member services, safety, and youth.

The other finalists for the President’s Award were Conway, Cross, Sharp and Woodruff counties.

In addition to those mentioned above, other counties earning 10 Gold Stars were Newton, Jackson, and Pope counties.

Awards also went to area counties achieving the highest percentage of quota and highest numerical gains in Farm Bureau memberships. Those counties are:  in the Southwest Area, Lafayette County; Northcentral Area, Cleburne County; Southcentral Area, Calhoun County; Northwest Area, Sebastian  County and in the Southeast Area, Prairie County.


Click Photo for High Resolution Version

Click Photo for High Resolution Version

Dan Hosman (left), Craighead County Farm Bureau president, accepted the President's Award from Randy Veach, Arkansas Farm Bureau president. The award, which honor's the top Farm Bureau in the state, was presented at Arkansas Farm Bureau's 77th Annual Convention on Dec. 1 in Little Rock. This is the second consecutive year Craighead County Farm Bureau has received this honor.


Arkansas Farm Bureau is a nonprofit, private advocacy organization of more than 210,000 families throughout the state working to improve farm and rural life.


For more information contact:

Steve Eddington
(501) 228-1383
PO Box 31, Little Rock 72203


Gregg Patterson
(501) 228-1282
PO Box 31, Little Rock 72203

<< Previous Release Back to List Next Release >>