Print this page
Sign Up
Want more news? Sign up for our free e-letter!

For Immediate Release

New Farm Bureau leadership award honors memory of Stanley Reed

12/1/2011 at 12:00 a.m.

LITTLE ROCK — Farmer Jeff Rutledge was honored as the first recipient of the Stanley E. Reed Leadership Award. Arkansas Farm Bureau created the award in honor one of its past presidents. Rutledge accepted the award from Reed’s widow Charlene and his son Nathan Thursday during Farm Bureau’s 77th Annual Conference at the Peabody Hotel and Statehouse Convention Center in Little Rock.

The award goes to an active member, 36 to 45 years old, for outstanding leadership within their county Farm Bureau and community. Rutledge, of Newport (Jackson County) is a former Young Farmers & Ranchers state president, a former Jackson County Farm Bureau president and presently serves on the USA Rice Council board of directors and is membership chairman of the Jackson County Farm Bureau board.

Rutledge takes home a $5,000 Farm Bureau Bank Certificate of Deposit.

“I’m very humbled to be given an award that even has his name on it. I felt very blessed to even have known Stanley and been a recipient of the interest and helping hand he took in developing young leaders,” Rutledge said. “This is quite an honor.”

Stanley Reed was president of Arkansas Farm Bureau from 2003-2008. He died in an automobile accident one-car crash last July.

“On behalf of the Reed family, I want to thank you for the creation of the Stanley E. Reed Leadership Award. Stanley loved Farm Bureau more than you can imagine,” said Charlene Reed.

“Improving agriculture, and working through Farm Bureau to make that happen, was his life’s work. He also had a passion for mentoring young people; helping them to learn and grow in ways that helped them, and ultimately others.

“There is no better way to combine two of Stanley’s passions than to create a leadership award in his name,” she concluded.

The University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) also announced at the convention its new Stanley E. Reed Memorial Chair in Emergency Medicine, Trauma & Injury Prevention. Reed also served as chairman on the University of Arkansas board.


Click Photo for High Resolution Version

Click Photo for High Resolution Version

Jeff Rutledge (second from right) of Jackson County won the first-ever Stanley E. Reed Leadership Award at Arkansas Farm Bureau's 77th Annual Convention on Dec. 1 in Little Rock. With him are (from left) Allyson J. Hamlin, Arkansas sales and marketing representative for Farm Bureau Bank; Charlene and Nathan Reed, wife and son of the late Farm Bureau leader and award namesake Stanley Reed; Derek Haigwood, Jackson County Farm Bureau president; and Randy Veach, Arkansas Farm Bureau president. The award, which was created to recognize a young Farm Bureau and community leader, earned Rutledge a $5,000 Farm Bureau Bank Certificate of Deposit. He is a row-crop farmer from Newport, a former Arkansas Farm Bureau State Young Farmers & Ranchers Committee chairman, former president of Jackson County Farm Bureau and a current member of the USA Rice Council Board of Directors.


Arkansas Farm Bureau is a nonprofit, private advocacy organization of more than 210,000 families throughout the state working to improve farm and rural life.


For more information contact:

Steve Eddington
(501) 228-1383
PO Box 31, Little Rock 72203


Gregg Patterson
(501) 228-1282
PO Box 31, Little Rock 72203

<< Previous Release Back to List Next Release >>