Print this page
Sign Up
Want more news? Sign up for our free e-letter!


Agriculture Safety Poster contest winners announced

4/11/2012 at 12:00 a.m.

LITTLE ROCK — Arkansas Farm Bureau has announced the winners of its annual safety poster contest. The theme this year was “Agricultural Safety: Your Best Investment.”

The contest coincided with Ag Safety Awareness Week March 4 – 10, and was designed to increase awareness of potential hazards on farms and ranches.

There are two categories in the statewide competition for elementary school students with cash prizes of $100, $75 and $50 being awarded to the top three winners.

In the 1st through 3rd grade category, Perryville Elementary School first grader Corbin Alexander, the son of Chris and Rachel Alexander, won first place. Ethan Shewmake, a third-grade student at S.C. Tucker Elementary in Yell County and son of Gary and Mina Shewmake, won second place. Brenna Warrick, a third grader from Emerson Elementary in Columbia County and daughter of Shane and Amy Warrick, was third.

In the 4th through 6th grade category, Olivia Morgan Hancock, a sixth-grade student at Valley View Elementary in Craighead County and daughter of Ashley Andrews, won first place. Derrick Gray, a fifth grader at Danville Elementary in Yell County and son of Mike and Jennifer Gray, won second place. Adeline Newhart, a fifth grader at East Pointe Elementary in Sebastian County and daughter of Justin and Marcie Newhart, was third.


Arkansas Farm Bureau is a non-profit, private farm and rural advocacy organization of more than 210,000 families throughout the state working to improve farm and rural life.

For more information contact:

Steve Eddington
(501) 228-1383


Ken Moore
(501) 228-1512

<< Previous Release Back to List Next Release >>