Print this page
Sign Up
Want more news? Sign up for our free e-letter!


Strickland awarded ARFB Vines Scholarship

4/12/2012 at 12:00 a.m.

LITTLE ROCK — Megan Strickland of Center Ridge (Conway County), a sophomore broadcast journalism major at Arkansas State University, is the 2012 recipient of Arkansas Farm Bureau’s Marvin Vines Memorial Scholarship. The award was announced at the University’s College of Communications Honors Banquet April 11.

Strickland, 20, is the daughter of William and Magdalene Strickland and hopes to follow in the steps of her older sister by pursuing a career in television news. She has a 3.8 grade point average in her major and 3.4 GPA overall.

Arkansas Farm Bureau endows the scholarship, which honors the memory of Marvin Vines, farm director for more than 25 years at Little Rock radio station KAAY. Since 1980, it’s been awarded annually to a broadcast major at Arkansas State.  

Strickland has gained valuable experience in radio interning and working for the Jonesboro Radio Group and Arkansas Sports Radio, KASR in Conway, respectively. She also had the opportunity to shadow her sister, Katrina, a television news producer, and observe how stories are assigned and developed and a newscast is produced. The experience allowed her to see how a news department works successfully when everyone works as a team.

“It takes a special person to go into the business of broadcasting,” Strickland says. “You have to have a love for it. Not only should journalists get the story, they should develop it in a way that effectively informs the masses. The saying goes if you find a job you love doing, you will never work a day in your life. I believe I have found that.”

Click Photo for High Resolution Version

Megan Strickland, 2012 Marvin Vines Memorial Scholarship recipient.

Arkansas Farm Bureau is a nonprofit, private advocacy organization of more than 210,000 families throughout the state working to improve farm and rural life.


For more information contact:

Steve Eddington
(501) 228-1383


Ken Moore
(501) 228-1512

<< Previous Release Back to List Next Release >>