Print this page
Sign Up
Want more news? Sign up for our free e-letter!


Agriculture Safety Poster contest winners announced

4/9/2013 at 12:00 a.m.

LITTLE ROCK — Arkansas Farm Bureau has announced the winners of its annual safety poster contest. The theme this year was “Agricultural Safety: Your Best Investment.”

The contest coincided with Ag Safety Awareness Week March 3 – 9, and was designed to increase awareness of potential hazards on farms and ranches. There are two categories in the statewide competition with cash prizes of $100, $75 and $50 being awarded to the top three winners in each category. 

In the 1st through 3rd grade category, Olivia Heffley a second-grade student at Deer Elementary in Newton County won first place. Olivia is the daughter of Travis and Loreshia Heffley of Pelsor. Emma Johnson, a third-grade student at Tuckerman Elementary in Jackson County and daughter of Jacky and Ginger Johnson of Newport, won second place. Allie Bottoms, a third grader from S.C. Tucker Elementary in Yell County, was third. She is the daughter of Greg and Amber Bottoms of Danville.

In the 4th through 6th grade category, Mallory Rials, a fifth-grade student at Albritton Elementary in Ashley County won first place. Mallory is the daughter of John and Penny Rials of Hamburg. Rachel Belle Richardson, a fifth grader at S.C. Tucker Elementary  and daughter of Robert and Jennifer Richardson of Plainview, won second place. Ethan Holte, a sixth-grade student at Greenland Middle School in Washington County was third. Ethan is the son of Diana Holte of Greenland.

Arkansas Farm Bureau is a nonprofit, private advocacy organization of more than 200,000 families throughout the state working to improve farm and rural life.


For more information contact:

Steve Eddington
(501) 228-1383
PO Box 31, Little Rock 72203


Ken Moore
(501) 228-1512
PO Box 31, Little Rock 72203

<< Previous Release Back to List Next Release >>