Print this page
Sign Up
Want more news? Sign up for our free e-letter!


ARFB Photo Roundup: Oct. 11, 2013

10/11/2013 at 12:58 p.m.

Photo by KEN MOORE

On Oct. 9, at a retirement reception thrown by ARFB employees, Rodney Baker (left) presented outgoing executive vice president Ewell Welch with a framed photo of the "Big Rock" I-430/I-630 interchange construction site. Baker prefaced the presentation of the humorous gift by saying: “We wanted to get you something to help you remember your last few years at Farm Bureau.” Welch's office overlooks the construction, which has been underway for the past several years. He is retiring Nov. 1 following a 36-year career with the organization — the last 11 years as executive vice president. Baker, director of the Governmental Affairs department, has been named to replace Welch as EVP.

Photo by KEN MOORE

On Oct. 10, near Atkins, soybean farmer Eddie Tackett (left) and Phil Sims, staff chair of the Pope County Cooperative Extension Service, examined some of Tackett's soon-to-be-harvested crop. Tackett is one of four soybean growers (as of Oct. 10) in the state who’ve eclipsed 100 bushels per acre in the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board and Arkansas Soybean Association’s "Race for 100" contest. Tackett had a five-acre plot that yielded 104.83 bushels per acre when it was harvested earlier in the month. Tackett will split a $50,000 prize with three other farmers from southeast Arkansas. Sims serves on the committee which verified the yield.

Photo by KEN MOORE

On Oct. 7, at Craighead County Farm Bureau’s annual meeting in Jonesboro, Brandon Thiesse (right), staff chair for the county’s Cooperative Extension Service, recognized the Scott Gibson Family as the 2013 Craighead County Farm Family of the Year. From left, are Madison, Rachel, Karie, Emily and Scott. The Gibsons are very active with the county Farm Bureau; Karie leads the women's committee, and Scott is president. About 100 people attended the meeting at the new fairgrounds multi-purpose building. The event featured an address from Dr. Tim Burcham, dean of the Arkansas State University College of Agriculture and Technology.

Photo by KEN MOORE

On Oct. 8, Mollie Dykes of Hot Springs, co-chairwoman of the Garland County Farm Bureau women's committee, explained the committee's "mentoring" program for young women at the county's annual meeting at Lake Hamilton High School. Dykes is a former intern for the ARFB Public Relations department and assists committee chairwoman Sara Loe, a member of the inaugural President's Leadership Council, with the county's ag education and outreach program. At the meeting, Loe and Dykes introduced 12 new ladies who have volunteered to join the committee for 2014.


On Oct. 7, Arkansas Secretary of Agriculture Butch Calhoun was the keynote speaker at Lonoke County Farm Bureau’s annual meeting in Carlisle.

Back to List