Print this page
Sign Up
Want more news? Sign up for our free e-letter!


Helms named to AFBF Young Farmers & Ranchers Committee

Clark County farmer to represent Arkansas on national advisory panel

12/20/2013 at 9:00 a.m.

LITTLE ROCK — Derek Helms, a 32-year-old corn, rice, soybean and wheat farmer from Arkadelphia (Clark County) has been appointed to serve a two-year term on the American Farm Bureau Young Farmers and Ranchers committee.   

A former member of the Arkansas Farm Bureau state YF&R committee, Helms has served as president of the Clark County Farm Bureau the past two years and has chaired the county’s YF&R committee for six years. He joined the county board of directors in 2006.  He was also selected to be a member of Arkansas Farm Bureau’s first President’s Leadership Council class in 2012. 

A graduate of Southern Arkansas University with a degree in agricultural business, Helms started farming in 2007 by renting 900 acres. Since then he has increased his operation to include 4,000 acres. Before attending college, Helms grew up and helped his father on their family dairy farm and as a result brings knowledge of row crop and animal agriculture to the position. 

Helms is the first Arkansan selected to serve on the national committee since Jeff and Amy Rutledge of Newport (Jackson County), served from 2006-2008. 

In nominating Helms for the position Arkansas Farm Bureau president Randy Veach said, “Derek has shown great leadership skills by accepting numerous positions within his local Farm Bureau where he has served for eight year and has impressed state leadership with his knowledge and skills.”

The function of the AFBF committee is to surface and develop young leaders who will advise the American Farm Bureau president and board of directors about activities that will involve young farmers and ranchers in Farm Bureau programs.

Click Photo for High Resolution Version

Derek Helms

Arkansas Farm Bureau is a nonprofit, private advocacy organization of more than 192,000 families throughout the state working to improve farm and rural life.


For more information contact:

Steve Eddington
(501) 228-1383
PO Box 31, Little Rock 72203


Ken Moore
(501) 228-1512
PO Box 31, Little Rock 72203

<< Previous Release Back to List Next Release >>