Print this page
Sign Up
Want more news? Sign up for our free e-letter!


Vilsack declares disaster in 29 Arkansas counties

12/13/2013 at 9:35 a.m.

From the Governor's office:

United States Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack has made Secretarial disaster declarations for farmers in 29 Arkansas counties related to drought conditions and flooding earlier this year. Qualifying farmers will be eligible for federal aid, including emergency loans.

Responding to requests from Governor Mike Beebe, Vilsack issued disaster declarations in response to earlier drought conditions in Arkansas, Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Chicot, Clark, Cleveland, Columbia, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Grant, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lincoln, Little River, Lonoke, Miller, Monroe, Nevada, Ouachita, Phillips, Prairie, Pulaski and Union Counties.

In addition, a declaration providing flood-related aid in the State of Mississippi includes three Arkansas counties that are contiguous to the declared region. Phillips County is included in this declaration as well, as are Crittenden and Lee Counties.

Farmers who feel they may qualify for this federal aid should contact their local Farm Service Agency office.

Back to List