News & Media

Congressional Sweep for Friend of Farm Bureau Awards

Arkansas Farm Bureau highlighted the state’s U.S. congressional delegation Nov. 28, with its Friend of Farm Bureau Award during the opening session of the organization’s 84th Annual Conference at the Hot Springs Convention Center. U.S. Sens. John Boozman and Tom Cotton along with Reps. Rick Crawford (District 1), French Hill (District 2), Steve Womack (District 3) and Bruce Westerman (District 4) all were recognized for the prestigious award.

“The Friend of Farm Bureau Award recognizes the members of Arkansas’ congressional delegation who have been nominated by the state board of directors and approved by the American Farm Bureau board,” said Arkansas Farm Bureau President Randy Veach. “Each recipient has a voting record that supports Arkansas and American Farm Bureau policy and embodies the spirit of this organization.”

Also taken into consideration are the number of bills an individual authors or co-sponsors, the leadership role they take on Farm Bureau priority issues and their accessibility to Farm Bureau leaders and members. This year, all six members of the delegation earned this special recognition, reflecting their efforts to protect the interests of agriculture in Arkansas.

Because of important votes being taken in Washington, D.C., no members of the delegation were unable to attend the Farm Bureau convention. However, Farm Bureau leaders met with each recipient earlier this fall, and special videos of each congressman captured their award presentations and thoughts about the importance of agriculture in Arkansas, the state’s No. 1 business sector, accounting for more than $21 billion.

Arkansas Farm Bureau is a nonprofit, private advocacy organization of more than 192,000 families throughout the state working to improve farm and rural life.

For more information, contact:

Rob Anderson
(501) 228-1640


Gregg Patterson
(501) 228-1282