News & Media

Stone County earns top Farm Bureau Award

County organization receives President’s Award

Stone County presentation photo

Arkansas Farm Bureau President Randy Veach (l), Stone County President Larry Smith (center) and ArFB Vice President Rich Hillman (r).

Visit Flickr for a high resolution version of this photo.

Stone County has been named the state’s top county Farm Bureau organization for 2018. Arkansas Farm Bureau President Randy Veach and Vice President Rich Hillman presented the organization’s President’s Award Nov. 29 at the 84th annual Arkansas Farm Bureau Convention at the Hot Springs Convention Center.

“It feels good,” said Stone County Farm Bureau President Larry Smith. “A lot of hard work went into this. It’s nice to win it.”

Counties competing for the President’s Award must earn a Gold Star designation in each of 10 measurement categories and be a top scorer in their respective membership category. The 10 Gold Star categories are membership acquisition, organization, public relations, commodity services, governmental affairs, women’s activities, Young Farmers & Ranchers activities, member services, safety and youth.

The other finalists for the President’s Award included Cross, Conway, St. Francis and White counties.

The Membership Retention Award went to Prairie County. This award goes to the county with the highest membership retention percentage in the state. Prairie County had a retention rate of 96.54 percent. Prairie County Agency Manager Bobby Lott and county board member Robert Petter received the award from Arkansas Farm Bureau President Randy Veach.

Arkansas Farm Bureau is a nonprofit, private advocacy organization of more than 192,000 families throughout the state working to improve farm and rural life.

For more information, contact:

Rob Anderson
(501) 228-1640


Gregg Patterson
(501) 228-1282