News & Media

White named top Farm Bureau county in 2019

County organization receives President’s Award

White County is the state’s top county Farm Bureau organization for 2019. Arkansas Farm Bureau President Randy Veach and Vice President Rich Hillman presented the organization’s President’s Award to White County President John Hamilton, Dec. 4, at the 85th Annual Arkansas Farm Bureau Convention at the Statehouse Convention Center in Little Rock.

“Wonderful” is how Hamilton summed his feelings on winning the award.

President's Award winner photo

ArFB Vice President Rich Hillman (L), White County President John Hamilton, & ArFB President Randy Veach

White County Board Group Shot

White County representatives accepting their award.

“We’ve got a great board. A great mix of young and experienced people. And we have a women’s committee that’s the best in the state,” Hamilton said. “They are a driving force and see that everything gets done. We have a diverse group of talented people that care about Farm Bureau, care about White County and care about agriculture in Arkansas.” 

Counties competing for the President’s Award must earn a Gold Star designation in each of 10 measurement categories and be a top scorer in their respective membership category. The 10 Gold Star categories are membership acquisition, organization, public relations, commodity services, governmental affairs, women’s activities, Young Farmers & Ranchers activities, member services, safety and youth.

The other finalists for the President’s Award included Craighead, Benton, Boone, Lonoke, Cross, Garland, Searcy, Stone and Jackson counties.

The Membership Retention Award went to Stone County. This award goes to the county with the highest membership retention percentage in the state. Stone County had a retention rate of 95.38 percent. Stone County Agency Manager Shane McElroy and President Larry Smith received the award from Arkansas Farm Bureau President Randy Veach and Vice President Rich Hillman.

Membership Retention Award photo

(L to R) ArFB Vice President Rich Hillman, Stone County Agency Manager Shane McElroy and President Larry Smith, and ArFB President Randy Veach.

Arkansas Farm Bureau is a nonprofit, private advocacy organization of almost 190,000 families throughout the state working to improve farm and rural life.

For more information, contact:   

Rob Anderson
(501) 228-1640


Gregg Patterson
(501) 228-1282